2017 · writing

New Year, New Me! (Not.)

Image Source

2016 is finally over, people say. 2016 was a horrible year, people say. Yes, it is. And maybe it was. We said goodbye to Prince, David Bowie, Carrie Fisher, Debbie Reynolds… Etc, etc. But we should probably focus on the more positive things, says my brain’s positive counterpart (maybe I’m just saying that because I was never really a fan of Prince, Bowie, Carrie Fisher or Debbie Reynolds).

Sure, 2016 wasn’t the best year for me. Two existences disappeared from my life (although they were barely in my life, but that’s my fault, and I still feel terrible about it), I suffered many a panic attack over many a school exam, I planned a few novels and wrote none of them, I made goals and accomplished very few of them, I got a fungal infection (gross!)… I could go on.

But I also planted my feet more firmly in the literary world, having published interviews, artwork, poetry and photography in upwards of five journals; I made some connections with some beautiful people (Rebecca, Orooj, and Katie, I’m looking at you 😉 ); I  wrote some damn good poetry (go me!) I can be proud of; I joined the staff at Zoetic Press; and I started my literary magazine, The Drowning Gull, which has had a considerably good turnout. If that didn’t make my 2016 at least moderately OKAY, I don’t know what did.

I spent the first half-hour of 2017 talking to my brother on FaceTime. He’s in England right now. Actually, he’s in Spain right now. But I think he’s going back to England soon, before heading back to Aus (he’s been gone for nearly three months). He recommended that I download Duolingo on my iPad; Duolingo is an app you can use to learn languages like German, Italian, Spanish, and even Ukrainian (I don’t think that’s ever been a thing on any other language app). I had a devastating urge to learn Greek, but of course it didn’t have that option for English speakers, so I picked the least popular language on there: Swedish. Because I’m just like that– not the average run-of-the-mill language student. Don’t be surprised if I blurt out random Swedish.

Anyway. That’s how I spent the very early hours of the first day of 2017.

This year, I’m hoping I can get some more poetry published– last year was my art year. This year I’m thinking should be my poetry year. And maybe I’ll get around to finally writing that novel. Publication, ahoy! I’ve submat to the extreme, so something’s got to come of it, right?  People have all these goals and then suffer through the self-deprecation when they don’t achieve them… Hypocritically, I guess my goal is to not be like that this year. To put less pressure on myself when things don’t go the way I’d planned.

I’ve got such a wonderful support network at home, but also right here.  Thank you for being patient with my frequent hiatuses throughout 2016, and for my rather recent evolution into sporadic posting. I hope you haven’t forgotten about me! ❤


Like this post if you liked it. You can follow my website via WordPress as well as on Facebook or Twitter.

If you’re a writer looking to get your work out there, I run a literary magazine called The Drowning Gull. We’re currently reading for our inaugural ocean-themed Sea Salt Series issue and our third main issue– so if you’ve created something, please do send it to us!

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Me! (Not.)

Leave a Reply

