Publishing · writing

Submission Haul Rejections

Hey everyone! It’s actually Monday where I am, but I figured I’d better not leave you in the dark this weekend without something to ponder. I have no clue what to talk about, so I’ll just run through the many rejections I’ve received over the past few months.

Rejection #1:

Dear Tiegan,

Thank you for your submission. I’m afraid it wasn’t right for us, but I wish you all the best in placing your work elsewhere.

Kind regards,

X

XXX

This submission consisted of only ONE poem that’s pretty close to my heart. This magazine is relatively new, and- hint, hint- I follow them on WordPress. I’ll be sure to try them again in the future.

Rejection #2:

Dear Tiegan,

Thank you for trusting us with your poetry.

Unfortunately, we have decided to pass on these particular poems. We wish you much success finding each the right home.

Please feel free to share more work with us in the future, we only ask that you wait at least one month before submitting again.

Sincerely,

X
Editor, XXX

This rejection is unique because of the first sentence. I don’t think I’ve ever been thanked by a lit mag for trusting them with my poetry, but I can roll.

This submission contained 3 poems, all which were some of my best– but they weren’t recent. I haven’t written poetry for a while, but those were among my favourites.

Rejection #3:

Dear Tiegan,

Thank you for sending your poems to XXX. We’ve read them carefully, but didn’t feel like they were quite right for us. If you have others you think might be right for our magazine, please feel free to try us again in the future.

Sincerely,
X
XXX

This submission, again, consisted of three poems, but a different three to the ones that received a rejection in the previous example. These three were definitely my favourites, though. My babies, so to speak. Haha. I’m determined to get these into the world.

Rejection #4:

Dear Tiegan Dakin,

Thank you for submitting. We appreciate the chance to read your work. Unfortunately, it’s not a good fit for XXX at this time.

We wish you the best of luck in placing these poems elsewhere. Thanks again for thinking of us.

Sincerely,
The Editors

The work mentioned in this rejection is the same as the ones mentioned in #2. (I did say I’m determined.) I swear I’m probably going to use up all my options in the literary world before someone will accept my work. I didn’t appreciate the formality of addressing me by my full name.

Rejection #5:

Dear Tiegan Dakin,

Thank you for sending us “3 Poems”. We appreciate the chance to read it. Unfortunately, the piece is not for us. This does not necessarily reflect the quality of your work, but, more so, the large number of submissions we have received.

Thanks again. Best of luck with this.
Sincerely,
X
XXX

For the poems mentioned also in #2 and #4. Maybe I’ll make a Guinness World Record with this stuff– probably the only rejection achievement worth celebrating. A classic form rejection right which unsuccessfully tries to soften the blow.

Rejection #6:

Dear Tiegan Dakin,

Thank you for sending us “XXX”. While we enjoyed your work, we have decided that it doesn’t quite fit with our collective aesthetic, and we will have to pass.

As writers, we’ve received many rejections ourselves; we know it’s never easy. Best of luck placing this, and please consider us in the future.

Sincerely,
XXX

For the same poem mentioned in #1.


Well, those are all the rejections I’ve had so far, folks; quite a few considering the rate at which many literary magazines respond to their submissions.

I think I’m going to take a break from submitting these poems for a while. It’s quite disheartening to open your  inbox to a rejection every day.

Of course, there’s sometimes good luck on your side…


Like this post if you liked it. You can follow my website via WordPress as well as on Facebook or Twitter.

If you’re a writer looking to get your work out there, I run a literary magazine called The Drowning Gull. I’m especially enthusiastic about discovering emerging writers (and will consider just about anything).

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Submission Haul Rejections

  1. Good on you for sending your stuff out there. Keep it up – after all you make your own luck and this usually consists of never giving up!
    Might be worth doing some research into the various publications to get a feel of what their “collective aesthetic” etc. actually is and then going through your material to find the best fit for each one. Or having a bash a zombie love poetry, if that’s their particular genre! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! More often than not, I’ll try a magazine because it falls within the sort of thing I can publish… perhaps I have a portfolio of 10 photos, but barely any magazine accepts that– so obviously I should give any lit mags that do a shot.

      Thanks for stopping by!
      xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

