Avenoir Magazine · The Drowning Gull

National Poetry Month

Image Source

As you all probably know, April is National Poetry Month.

Poets and writers from the world all unite at this time of the year to mark poetry’s important place in our culture and our lives. Some of us even embark on a challenge to write one poem a day for the entire month as a celebration! National Poetry Month is definitely one of the world’s largest literary celebrations– and for good reason.

As a part of National Poetry Month, I’ve been posting on The Drowning Gull’s blog every day with poetry prompts. Feel free to check them out if you’re a poet looking for inspiration. Some of them are strange, but strange usually means inspirational.

I’ve also written another article for Avenoir Magazine detailing my five favourite poets. You’ll probably be able to guess who are among them if my previous posts are anything to go by. Some of the poets I look at include Brenda Shaughnessy and Dan Beachy- Quick. Here’s a preview:

Dan Beachy-Quick

Dan Beachy-Quick has authored many poetry books, but I’m not particularly familiar with any of them. I have, however, read some of his poems on Poetry Foundation’s website and I think his poems will benefit anyone who reads them. Some of Dan’s poetry collections include Circle’s Apprentice, North True South Bright, Spell and Mulberry. Here is an excerpt of one of his poems, Exegesis of the First Words Spoken (Ishmael):

A scholar-on-waves, a water-gazer,

Call me

Ishmael. Re-enter my own life.

Waves: they murmur, babble, waves

Do not articulate what the ocean

Turning in its bed thinks: What must be said.

          Sing above or sing

          Below

         The knot in the plank, the cursive

         Pine-grain

         Of my life in the bow and my life

        Bay-less in the bowels

        Of the bow

You can check out the rest of the article here.

I’d love to hear from you in the comments. What are you doing to celebrate National Poetry Month? Who are some of your favourite poets?


Like this post if you liked it. You can follow my website via WordPress as well as on Facebook or Twitter.

If you’re a writer looking to get your work out there, I run a literary magazine called The Drowning Gull. I’m especially enthusiastic about discovering emerging writers (and will consider just about anything).

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

