writing

The Torture of “Waiting” To Write

Image Source

After having spent the last few weeks- for the most part- at school and doing homework, I haven’t made much time to write. Coupled with Avenoir Magazine, this blog and The Drowning Gull,  I’m not left with much time to write to scripts and stories I’ve been planning. There simply isn’t enough time to write for myself.

I’ve been told I should get used to it. That this is what the next few years of my life are going to look like: overwhelmed by studying and working, without much play involved. More thought attributed to HSC, ATAR, planning futures. I’m not arguing against securing my own future– more so against how it tears a person’s personal life to shreds.

Being deprived of writing is like being deprived of food. The longer you go without food, the more your thoughts turn to it. Crave it. Hallucinate about it. It’s like those TV shows- I think even The Simpsons did this- where a character is so hungry that the people around them turn into slices of pizza or hot dogs on legs.

Of course, there’s writing for homework. I have two assignments for which I have to write narratives (if you’re interested, I’ll post the stories in a few week’s time). This “mandatory” writing has its limitations, and only makes me crave leisurely writing more. Some of my symptoms:

  • Constantly thinking about writing
  • Refraining from opening a word document
  • I would sacrifice a whole night’s sleep to write, if eagle eyes weren’t watching me
  • Compiling a to-do list of stories/ scripts to rewrite
  • Actually considering forgetting about homework and just having a binge-writing session
  • Mood swings
  • This blog post
Those of us who write out of intrinsic need- not for money or fame- will feel the tug of the need to write calling to us.
But, back to the point at hand– I lack time. I planned this post in advance (something I didn’t used to do when I first began). Use of time is essential. I’m at a point when I’m now taking advantage of lonely lunches and free time in the classroom.
I hope those of you with time to spare appreciate it while you have it.

Like this post if you liked it. You can follow my website via WordPress as well as on Facebook or Twitter.

If you’re a writer looking to get your work out there, I run a literary magazine called The Drowning Gull. I’m especially enthusiastic about discovering emerging writers (and will consider just about anything).

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “The Torture of “Waiting” To Write

  1. It doesn’t necessarily get any easier. I work an hour’s drive from home, so I don’t tend to get in until gone 6 pm, and then I’m tired & hungry. And I’ve joined an Am-Dram group (and got a part) so that’s 2 evenings a week gone. Sorting out the usual adult/parenting stuff like paying bills, clearing up the kitchen, DIY, ferrying my daughter around etc., etc. also gets in the way.
    But, although I occasionally have to work at weekends and the odd evening, I don’t have loads of homework to do any more. So, swings and roundabouts really.. 🙂
    Best suggestion is to have a specific plan where you set aside a set time to unleash your creativity. And make sure, when you’re in one of those ‘dead time’ situations where you can’t write (like walking to school or something) that you plot and plan what you’re going to do with your time when you finally sit down to it.
    Good luck! 🙂

    Like

      1. I know the feeling!
        Firstly, have you thought about getting a friend or family member to set you a deadline to produce something by? Deadlines are a great way of focusing the mind (unless you’re like Douglas Adams [if you’ve never heard of him PLEASE google him] who said “I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by”).
        Secondly, use your phone to schedule “writing time” on an evening and/or a weekend. I use Outlook on my PC & phone to schedule all kinds of stuff for work & home. A nagging reminder to write at a set time may be a useful way of making it become routine.
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

