The Drowning Gull

On Starting A Literary Magazine

When I first began The Drowning Gullalmost a month ago- it was just something I thought would be rewarding to try. I had the idea from a story I’d written, in which a man worked for a literary magazine with the same name. I didn’t think it would amount to anything. I thought there wouldn’t be too much work involved.

I got a basic layout of The Drowning Gull up and running on WordPress, and then the next step was to spread the social media influence. I started up a Facebook page, and invited all my friends to like and share it. I started up a Twitter account, and that resulted in around 150 followers as of today. (Which reminds me, please do follow the lit mag @DrowningGull).

I didn’t realise how much work it would require: a lot more than is perhaps necessary, since I’m doing it all on my own; I need to be active on Facebook, on Twitter, and post regularly on the blog section of the website so I don’t lose what little following The Drowning Gull does possess. I’m struggling with how to provide content on the blog.

I never thought such a seemingly insignificant venture could be something that I actually wanted to be successful. That wasn’t my intention to begin with.

At the beginning of this month, I posted our first two accepted submissions. The first was The Merchant’s Wares by Shawn Cowling, and the second was The Man on the Stairs by Michael Chin. Myself and my brother did the artwork to accompany these pieces.

I have thanked both of the contributors personally and publicly, but wish to thank them repeatedly. They took the risk that many other experienced writers wouldn’t do for a new literary magazine run cheaply on WordPress.

They’ve done their fair share in promoting The Drowning Gull. My heart bursts when I see things like this:

the man on the stairs mention
A mention on Michael Chin’s website

 

the merchant's wares
A post about “The Drowning Gull” on Shawn Cowling’s blog

 

So, readers… those are my experiences in running a literary magazine. Please do support The Drowning Gull in any way you can and want to, and suggest ideas for the blog below, if you have any.

Tiegan

xo


Like this post if you liked it. You can follow my website via WordPress as well as on Facebook or Twitter.

If you’re a writer looking to get your work out there, I run a literary magazine called The Drowning Gull. I’m especially enthusiastic about discovering emerging writers (and will consider just about anything).

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

