Inspiration · List · Publishing · writing

My Aspirations for 2016

With the end of the year approaching, and Christmas over, I’m thinking about what I’d like to accomplish next year. I’ve already done a considerable amount this year, but there’s so much more I’d like to have done by the end of 2016. I won’t be able to do everything in a whole year. But I like to dream.

  • Finish my first novel. This isn’t one that’s going to be published, because it’s more of a practice run to develop my skills before I…
  • Finish my second novel.  I already have ideas in my head for this one, but I’m telling myself I can’t write it until I’ve proven to myself that I can finish a novel. Full stop. I’ll write this one a lot better having written one novel already.
  • Write and publish more fiction. I’m in the process of writing a short story at the moment, that I hope I will eventually get around to finishing and sending off to some literary magazines for consideration. Maybe 2016 will be my year of fiction. I haven’t been writing as much poetry as I would have liked to in these past few months.
  • Grow my blogging community… I have a Facebook page (well, two actually) for Harbour and a Twitter profile. I don’t plan to go any further with social media as I find it difficult enough to keep up with, but thankfully WordPress has a shortcut for that. I still plan to write for myself but have the hope that more people will find my blog informative and engaging enough to follow. I’ll be working on making the experience more fun for you as well as myself.
  • Get that interview with Eunice Andrada out there. I’m not giving up for this. I will go through a hundred rejections. I don’t care.
  • Continue my journal. I have a journal that I include all my inspiring experiences in… including some posts from my blog, acceptance and rejection letters from lit mags, and a record of overnight stays at places other than home. I’ve found the experience enlightening. I can take out the journal and turn back the pages when I’m feeling discouraged, so that I can bring myself to pick up the pen/ open my laptop and actually write something.
  • Conquer Thrush and Poetry Magazine. Be afraid, Editors. Be very afraid.
  • Make some changes in the world.
  • Enjoy myself.
  • Don’t ever stop writing…
  • Inspire someone.

What are your aspirations for next year?

5 thoughts on “My Aspirations for 2016

    1. Yup, I am writing a novel… although it’s easier said than done. I’m about a third of my way through mine, and despite my love of writing, it is really hard to get the motivation to continue with it. My writing loses its shine in my eyes when I get too familiar with the characters and storyline, which happens when I try to write something long like this. Thanks for your support 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am working on a novel as well. I am about half way done with it, and I’ve been working on it for 3 and a half years now! Hoping to finish it by April or May. It’s my first, but hopefully I can self-publish it. You definitely have some lofty goals for 2016, I wish you all the best in accomplishing them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

