Publication · Uncategorized

This Year’s Rejections and Acceptances

Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to keep track of every submission rejection I received- in terms of what they said- but these are the ones that I did.

Rejection #1:

“Dear Tiegan,

Thank you for your submission! We enjoyed the voice in your both your poems, wonderful work. We are going to pass on inclusion in XXX, but we look forward to reading more from you in the future and strongly encourage you to try us again.

Please feel free to submit again, we only ask that you wait at least six months before resubmitting.”

I actually submitted to this lit mag twice, and have discovered that acceptance here is not easy! I could tell in what seemed like an improved form letter that they had tried to satisfy the people sensitive about rejections. I sort of was at the time.

Rejection #2:

“We have read your submission and unfortunately we are not able to use it in XXX. Please do not take this as a comment on the quality of your writing; we receive so many submissions that we are only able to accept a small fraction of them.

Thank you for sending your work to us, and please accept our apologies for the automated message system. We wish we had the time to reply to everyone individually.”

Again, I’m not that sensitive at this point! But it is nice for a lit mag to acknowledge the automated message system in an automated message system.

Rejection #3:

“Dear Tiegan Dakin,

Thank you for sending us your work. Our panel of editors appreciated the opportunity to review it. Unfortunately, we have decided that this piece is not right for XXX. Sometimes, we do have to reject pieces we think have literary and artistic merit simply because they don’t fit in with our journal’s tone.

We wish you the best of luck placing this submission elsewhere. Thank you again for your interest.”

I guess it’s nice that they put all this stuff in the automated message. I suppose I should have had a better look at the sort of poetry they published. I will remember that next time.

Rejection #4:

Same as the above.

I sent two different poems in separate submissions to this journal, as that is what they requested.

Rejection #5:

(Literary journal staff application)

“Hi Tiegan

Thank you for your interest in joining the staff of XXX. While we have decided that we are unable to accommodate your addition to the staff, we found the potential in your work. As such, I’d just like to take a moment to encourage you to think about potentially applying to X, which will be open to applications beginning February or March 2016 from high school students as of this (2015-2016) academic year. During this *free* unique program, mentees will have the opportunity to directly and informally correspond with X Mentors for the summer to work on writing and reviewing one-on-one. This year, we’ve been fortunate enough to see our mentees do quite well, earning national recognition from Scholastic Art and Writing Awards, the National YoungArts Foundation, and the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Awards, among many others.

We think you might benefit from this program, and we would love to consider an application from you! The information and application details are currently available here : XXX. (By the way, this isn’t a default form letter!)

Thanks again, and we hope you’ll be in touch!”

Well then. I was disappointed but simultaneously encouraged by this rejection. You can probably even guess which publication this letter comes from.

I’m thinking about applying for the program they recommended, but I’m not sure yet.


As well as these rejections, individual poem rejections of mine add up to 28. However, some of my poems were grouped together in submissions, which mean that one or two were accepted and the rest were implied to have been denied publication. And, with that, some acceptances!


Acceptance #1

” Dear Tiegan,

Thank you for submitting your work to Blue Bonnet Review. Our editorial team has reviewed your submission and we’d like to publish He Whom I Loved on our site. We will notify you in the next few weeks when it’s ready. Do you have a photo to go along with your bio?

Please keep in mind that Blue Bonnet Review asks for first rights. After initial publication, you may publish it anywhere and anyhow you see fit (although we ask that you give credit to Blue Bonnet Review). Thanks for submitting to Blue Bonnet Review, we look forward to reading more of your work in the future!”

You have probably already clicked the link to this publication in my About page. It’s the second piece of mine that has ever been published!

I gave them a first person bio, which was a  dodgy. When they used personal pronouns, they called me a “he”. Which was my fault.

This is a lesson to you to make sure your bio is very clear as to your name, gender, etc.

Acceptance #2:

“Dear Tiegan,

Thank you for sending us your work. We would like to publish ‘Flowers’ in the November Gravel. Please send us an e-mail to let us know we have permission to publish your work, a short third person bio, and a photo, preferably a head shot, to use with your bio.

Once again, congratulations! You have made our day.”

They made my day, too!

I’ll have you know that I’m not comfortable having my headshots online… although I have included a drawing I did of myself on this blog… so I sent them this picture (it’s also what I used for my profile with Avenoir Magazine)

SAM_1135


 

Hopefully I will have more acceptances to share with you all by the end of this year. I have plenty of pieces out for consideration at the moment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “This Year’s Rejections and Acceptances

      1. I’d use Duotrope if it didn’t cost money haha. I just use excel as an alternative and hope I remember to put in what I’ve submitted and who to. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! xo

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually use Submittable for my submissions at the moment… I’ll have to wait a while before I start using what you suggest otherwise I’ll have stuff all over the place. Thank you for the suggestion!

      Like

Leave a Reply

