bodega · eunice andrada · interview

The Classic Form Letter is Inevitable

Around a month ago, I did an e-mail interview with poet and journalist Eunice Andrada. She’s the 2014 winner of the John Marsden/Hatchette Australia Prize for Young Writers, and I got in contact with her via The Red Room Company.

I gathered all the e-mail answers together and attempted the formalities. I asked Eunice to write a third person biography to go with the interview, too. I then submitted it to a literary magazine called Bodega Magazine, a decent platform with a reasonable amount of hits and featuring a variety of forms (poetry, fiction, non-fiction, interviews, etc).

bd

I received a response from them today, saying that the interview “doesn’t feel like a good fit for Bodega at the moment”. A rejection: and even worse, a form rejection. A lot of writers have experienced this horror.

bodega

Well, it’s not a horror, but it’s not pleasant, either. You’d like to think people care enough about your work to send a very heartfelt reply about how sorry they are that they can’t publish it (I wish).

Of course, I do understand the length to which the editors of journals go in order to produce each issue. In the case of popular journals- like Poetry or Tin HouseI understand even more. However, until I’ve experienced that perspective, the very sensitive side of me will continue to be bashed by those very robotic form rejections.

Have you gotten any personal rejection or acceptance letters in the past? Feel free to comment about them in the comments section below.

4 thoughts on “The Classic Form Letter is Inevitable

  1. I’ve had plenty of both “boilerplate” form rejections and personal ones in my life, and at my advanced age still manage to be very thin-skinned about them. But I find that the sting fades more quickly than it once did, and that distracting myself from the disappointment and frustration by turning to new and (hopefully) better things is the quickest salve, if any. 😉
    Cheers,
    Kathryn

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly so! And yes, admittedly sometimes new and better for having had the criticism that was either implicit or explicit in the rejections, even though I dread the moment of rejection just as anyone does! 😉
        K

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

