creative progression · Poems

Poems of the Past

Have you ever written something that you looked back at years later?

I used to be a member on a poetry forum called PoemHunter, when I was about 13, but I don’t use it now. What does remain of my existence on PoemHunter is an ebook I made using this platform. I have to say that they’re pretty interesting poems (take that comment as you will). Here’s one:

Poem

Sorry for the bad quality. But do you get my drift? I’m a bit critical of myself so I definitely don’t see this as one of my best. This poem was from 2012; more than 3 years ago. The “all I think of is you in bed” line is pretty ambiguous and I wouldn’t blame you if you laughed your head off at that one.

Marriage In the eyes of a child

I seriously can’t help but blame myself. *Facepalms* It is confirmed that now I am not perfect.

image

If I could I would be e-mailing people all over the internet to take my old work down so I’m not given the opportunity to be ashamed of it. But that’s not how the world works. I’m now more accepting of that part of myself- if anything, I use it as motivation- as someone who was still learning, still growing. Everyone is. I am now. Even if you’re the top contender in the world, you’re still working against yourself to be even better.

In I Can’t Get You Outta My Head, I’m reminded of a younger self who didn’t care what the world thought of her. With chubby cheeks and a button nose and (probably) puppy fat, that’s still who I am, in a sense. I’m very happy with how far I’ve come. I can’t ever imagine what my life would be like without writing in it.

You can read the rest of the ebook here if you’re interested. Maybe.

Feel free to share any comparisons of your previous work with your current ability in the comments section below. How do you feel about your progress over the years? Even if you won’t do that, at least check out this Ted Talks video on Why People Need Poetry.

One thought on “Poems of the Past

Leave a Reply

